Muffler for vacuum fits 2-inch OD exhaust ports

Products Reviews

Customer Reviews

Stars
67 Reviews, 4.1 out of 5 stars
Filter by:

5 star user rating.

Apr 18 2016 1:50AM

Good customer service



5 star user rating.

Oct 27 2015 4:58AM

The muffler fits right over our 2"OD vertical vacuum exhaust port. I have 14 machines crammed into a small room with low ceilings and after installing these we were able to lower our noise exposure by 2-3dB. Works as expected.



5 star user rating.

Dec 17 2014 4:55AM

Muffler has done a good job of reducing the exhaust noise from my vacuum. When combined with a HEPA filter it is easier to live with the vacuum noise and dust in my utility room. Great fit to OEM product at a great price!



5 star user rating.
Oct 7 2014 6:49PM
Comments not provided.


1 star user rating.
Sep 18 2014 9:26PM

They don't fit my machine, very disappointed

(MD Notes: You will need a 90 Spigot Sweep Ell (Part #503 in Hardware / Pipe and Fittings) to install it vertically)



5 star user rating.

Sep 23 2013 11:20AM
Comments not provided.


4 star user rating.
Jul 26 2013 10:02PM

This isn't intended to make your vac silent. Rather it softens the "edge" of the noise and changes what sounds like a jet engine to more of a normal vac sound. Central vacs are not designed to be in living spaces, so don't expect this to do miracles, but it was well worth the money for me and I don't have to wear earplugs if I do find myself in the garage when the vac is being used.



4 star user rating.

Jun 25 2012 2:34PM

my second MD muffler - - that says it all - - it works



3 star user rating.
Sep 28 2011 5:49AM
Comments not provided.


3 star user rating.

Aug 2 2011 5:21AM

Our central vac is located in our garage, thank you Mr. Contractor(who built the house). We were looking for a way to reduce the noise, especially when the garage door is closed. The sound was resonating through the walls. This muffler definitely reduced the sound of the air noise as the air exits the vacuum through the exhaust port. I realize now, that is the only noise it could muffle. You can't muffle the electric motor sound probably without wrapping the whole unit in several blankets. I don't think that would work too well. The muffler does a good job for what it was designed to do. I should probably order one for my neighbor who's vacuum exhaust port is routed out the side of their house, facing my deck and who seems to think it's OK to vacuum every time we are having supper on the deck on weekends.



1 star user rating.

Jul 15 2011 7:22PM

mufflers did not help i returned the two mufflers and two 90 degree bends

two weeks ago but have not received any type of reply. (MD NOTES: Not all units benefit from the muffler. If your vacuum has lots of vents where the motor is then they will not be of much help. The return will be credited.)



1 star user rating.
Jan 3 2011 7:21AM

useless, does not muffel any sound, would send back for refund but shipping not worth it. (MD NOTES: We will contact you and make a special arrangement. Mufflers work well on most vacuums but are not so good on others.) kjvilla@bellsouth.net



3 star user rating.

Dec 27 2010 8:42AM

While the mufflers helped a little bit, the vacuum is still above accepted noise decibels. Customer Service was very helpful.



5 star user rating.
Aug 30 2010 4:12AM
Comments not provided.


2 star user rating.
Jun 9 2010 12:24PM

The muffler fits and works as designed. It would be better, however, if there were a 90 degree elbow so that it could be pointed in a direction other than straight out of the vacuum assembly (and at my freezer.) (PLEASE NOTE: Purchase elbow #503 to make the turn.)



4 star user rating.

Mar 16 2010 6:27PM
Comments not provided.


5 star user rating.
Mar 1 2010 2:02PM

Installed easily. Big difference in exhaust noise level.



4 star user rating.
Nov 6 2009 2:59PM

Not quite what I was expecting but does reduce noise



4 star user rating.
Sep 16 2009 6:01AM
Comments not provided.


5 star user rating.
Jun 18 2009 4:35AM

This works as advertised - really cuts down on the exhaust noise, does not affect power at all. On our vac, there is an intake port at the top, and a lot of high frequency noise gets out of there. The muffler did not improve that, and I did not expect it to do so. I am pleased with this product.



1 star user rating.

Jun 8 2009 7:37AM
Comments not provided.


4 star user rating.

Jun 2 2009 6:46AM

product works better than first impression. The vacuum is still LOUD but less shrill therefore a lot less annoying.



5 star user rating.

May 22 2009 1:43AM

It was absolutely the easiest installation of anything I have ever done. I opened the box slid it on and I was done. I will use MD for future purchases.



4 star user rating.
May 4 2009 5:02AM
Comments not provided.


5 star user rating.

Apr 13 2009 7:25AM

cut noise in half. great purchase


Please fill out this short form to submit a review for:
Muffler for vacuum fits 2-inch OD exhaust ports
Rating:

PRIVACY NOTICE: Your email address will not be displayed on our site or given to any third parties under any circumstances. Your name and comments (if entered) will be displayed upon approval by an editor. We will not change your comments, but will remove any unacceptable words and correct any spelling errors.

(Prevents duplicate user ratings - never used for spam.)