MD Central Vacuum
Fast Free shipping
on orders over $75
Since 1961

Low Voltage Vacuum Hose

Product Reviews

Customer Reviews

Stars
1158 Reviews, 4.7 out of 5 stars
Filter by:

3 star user rating.
Sep 16 2019 5:39AM
Comments not provided.


3 star user rating.
Jul 3 2019 6:55AM

I ordered the low voltage hose for the option of using the on/off switch on the handle but when I tried the switch it didn?t work. I went inline and found out that older models (mine was installed in 1988) don?t accommodate the on/off switch. I wish this information had been included with the product description instead of buried among unhapoy reviews of the product. I paid an extra $30 for this option which I can?t use. The hose itself works well.



3 star user rating.
Apr 1 2019 5:54AM

Was thrilled with the idea if being able to turn my system on and off with a switch. But my system is too old, the hose is not compatible.

(BIV Notes: Almost all outdated valves can be updated to the new industry standard. Please call us to see how it can be done with your system)



3 star user rating.
Sep 10 2018 9:42AM

Not as rugged as our original hose has a tendency to kink if not careful but it will do.Also our metal pipe that connects to the hose keeps falling off had to tape it cuz no little push button lock on new hose

(MD Notes: We have reached out to the customer to remedy the issue.)



3 star user rating.
Jan 23 2018 12:03PM

35' low-voltage vacuum hose

+ that it's 35' & longer than Nu-Tone hose it's replacing so it easily reaches the spots that were a stretch for the Nu-Tone hose.

- the position of the switch on the top of the grip. I find it annoyingly easy to accidentally switch it off while vacuuming; my husband chokes up on the grip more & switches it off frequently.

+ if the switch is replaceable. We were on our 2d NuTone hose. My husband put a toggle switch in the 1st one when the switch failed. As we're selling our house, that was not an option this time (& he was out of switches)

- Too tight a fit into the Nu-Tone inlets, so my husband had to file down the plastic ring. I could manage to get the hose in to the inlet, but when unplugging, it was pulling the inlets out of the wallboard.

Seems to be spranglier and harder to wrangle than my NuTone hose when putting it away, but I'll get used to it.



3 star user rating.
Aug 28 2017 8:51PM

This hose sometimes kinks during use, whereas old hose never kinked. Like the on/off switch. Although not as sturdy as old hose, it has been crushproof so far.

MD Notes - We recommend the following:

1. Extend the hose from one end to the other as straight as possible for about 5 mins so that the “memory” of being tightly coiled in the shipping box is released.

2. When storing the hose, please hang it on a hose hanger in no more than 4 large loops. Storing the hose in tight loops will increase the possibility of it kinking up while vacuuming.



3 star user rating.
Jan 10 2017 3:21AM

Hose is super lightweight and tends to kink and stop working easily until you unkink it

MD Notes - We've reached out to the customer to help resolve. We recommend the following:

1. Extend the hose from one end to the other as straight as possible for about 5 mins so that the “memory” of being tightly coiled in the shipping box is released.

2. When storing the hose, please hang it on a hose hanger in no more than 4 large loops. Storing the hose in tight loops will increase the possibility of it kinking up while vacuuming.



3 star user rating.
Nov 23 2015 6:35AM

the switch on the handle does not work



3 star user rating.
Apr 12 2015 9:19AM

Doesn't always keep the charge....I have to twist the hose in the outlet to get it to work sometimes. Also, the floor wand I have doesn't fit very well, loose, so now I will have to order a new one. When I can get it to work, however, it does work well and suction is good.

(MD Notes: We are sorry to hear you are experiencing issues with your hose. With a Low Voltage Hose, the plastic tab on the wall end cuff of the hose must be aligned in either the 12 o'clock or 6 o'clock position to allow the switch to operate properly. We are reaching out to the customer regarding this issue.)



3 star user rating.

Apr 5 2015 11:26AM

WHEN TURNING THE HANDLE IT STOPS WORKING

(MD Notes: We are sorry to learn this customer has experienced issues with this hose. After determining the original hose was defective, we have replaced the hose with a newer, longer version to resolve this issue.)



3 star user rating.
Apr 6 2014 3:11PM
Comments not provided.


3 star user rating.

May 2 2012 6:13PM

Pros: It's light in weight.

The on/off switch is handy, rather than having to pull out hose.

Cons: It's not made as sturdy as my original Zenex hose.

It kinks.

(MD NOTES: When first received, stretch the hose out to let it relax. When storing, use a wall mounted hose hanger and put the hose up in 4 to 5 loops. Always store it disconnected from the accessories.)



3 star user rating.
Nov 19 2011 5:34AM

The vacuum hose works, however, the on-off control on the hand unit does not turn off so it stays on all the time & I still have to unplug it from the wall to pause, just like my 22 year old previous hose. (MD NOTES: Please be sure the plastic tab on the wall end of the hose is up or down, then the switch will work.)



3 star user rating.

Jun 25 2011 3:13PM

I give this Low Voltage Vacuum Hose a three star rating because the first hose I received had an electrical fault in the swivel end of the hose near the on/off switch. You were kind enough to send an replacement and I returned the faulted hose, thanks. Just a nusance as I had already thrown out the original box.



3 star user rating.
May 31 2011 6:36AM

The hose kinks quite easily, it must be thinner than the original hose. ordering by phone was a breeze and the service person was wonderful.(MD NOTES: When first received, stretch the hose out to let it relax. When storing, use a wall mounted hose hanger and put the hose up in 4 to 5 loops. This will help with the kinking problems.)



3 star user rating.

Dec 21 2010 4:59AM

I could not find a hose like this with a button lock...so I made one by grinding the button off my old electic hose and drilling and attaching it to this hose...works great!! The attachment doesn't fall off all the time while my wife vacuums.



3 star user rating.

Oct 14 2010 5:31AM

Be careful! The switch may not work on your system. When I ordered it, I did not notice this issue so I spent $30 more for just a better looking handle. It would be nice the product description could show a picture of what kind of wall-outlet panel can match the connector that makes the switch work. (MD NOTES: Thank you for the review! Our comments: 1)The Low Voltage Hose works "properly" in valves with two small metal nubs inside the inlet hole. That is 99% of all inlets on the market now and for past decades. 2) For the 1% that have other valves, this hose is superior and worth the 30 or so dollars more than the Basic Hose because it swivels at the handle eliminating nearly all kinks, has a real handle, and it's construction is more durable.)



3 star user rating.
Jun 28 2010 10:46AM

The hose fits somewhat loosley where the metal to metal connection is made; ie, the hose connects to the metal extension pipe. I do not know if this is a problem or not. Will it cause the fittings to bend or leak air? Otherwise, it seems to work fine.



3 star user rating.
Jan 24 2010 10:00AM

Hose is very lightweight and seems flimsy. Collapses if stepped on. Don't know if this is simply a lesser quality hose or if the materials have just improved to make the hose more pliable. (MD NOTES: Today's hoses are using softer, lighter weight, durable materials. Homeowners replacing old hoses will be a little shocked at the difference.)



3 star user rating.

Nov 6 2009 7:16AM

The hose is very lightweight. More durable hoses are available at the same price. This hose should be about $50 for 30-ft. The switch failed after 2 years. When I opened the handle to repair it, I found that the connection had broken at the hose and there was no way to resolder it.



3 star user rating.
Aug 3 2009 9:19AM
Comments not provided.


3 star user rating.

Feb 4 2009 6:15PM

The friction fit is fine, but is a little tight. What can I do to make it go in easier? The on/off switch does not work. When I insert the hose, it automatically goes on, but I cannot shut it off with the switch/button. It stays on. What can I do?

(NOTE: Is the friction fit you speak of on the metal wands? Use a twist to help get it on or off easily. For it turning on, insert the hose so the plastic tab is at the top or bottom. Then the on/off switch will work.)



3 star user rating.
Oct 27 2008 5:03AM
Comments not provided.


3 star user rating.
Oct 17 2008 9:33AM

The hose and handle/mechanism are flimsier, and stiffer than the original. Hose is more prone to kink and is more difficult to wind to store. Connection to wall unit is not as solid. It works, but I am not confident about its durability. I would recommend the next higher quality unless you rarely use your system. Order arrived quickly, perfectly. I am impressed that the site followed up with a satisfaction survey. (MD NOTES: PLEASE STORE THE HOSES IN 3 OR 4 LOOPS. IT MAKES FOR EASY WINDING AND LESS HASSLE. THE MATERIAL IS DURABLE. THE NEWER TECHNOLOGY PROVIDES FOR A BETTER HOSE WITH MORE SUCTION AND LIGHTER WEIGHT.)



3 star user rating.

Jun 19 2008 4:09AM

My concern is that the 1.5 inch fitting doesn't quite fit the wall recepticals that are in the house... it's a little loose.

MD NOTES: Some older Vacumaid inlets may need adaptor #302CT


Please fill out this short form to submit a review for:
Low Voltage Vacuum Hose
Rating:

PRIVACY NOTICE: Your email address will not be displayed on our site or given to any third parties under any circumstances. Your name and comments (if entered) will be displayed upon approval by an editor. We will not change your comments, but will remove any unacceptable words and correct any spelling errors.

(Prevents duplicate user ratings - never used for spam.)