MD Central Vacuum
Fast Free shipping
on orders over $75
Since 1961

Modernday Vacuum Unit Services

Product Reviews

Customer Reviews

Stars
218 Reviews, 4.8 out of 5 stars
Filter by:

4 star user rating.

Feb 28 2018 3:00PM

PURCHASE MD MODERN DAY 715. EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED IN THE DECIBELS OF NOISE IT PUTS OUT. IT IS A HIGH SHRILL AND HAVE ONLY HAD A WEEK. IT IS IN THE GARAGE SO DON'T HEAR IT IN THE HOUSE BUT IS REALLY WAY LOUDER THAN IT SHOULD BE. THERE SHOULD BE A WAY TO DECREASE NOISE AND YES WE HAVE THE MUFFLER ON IT.



4 star user rating.
Oct 30 2017 7:53AM

I do not care for the open bag concept of the unit. The operation of the vacuum is very good, however.



4 star user rating.

Jul 12 2015 6:50PM
Comments not provided.


4 star user rating.

Nov 10 2013 11:58PM
Comments not provided.


4 star user rating.

May 31 2013 7:34AM
Comments not provided.


4 star user rating.

May 27 2013 10:18AM
Comments not provided.


4 star user rating.
Jun 7 2012 1:17PM

So far seems to work nearly as well as the Beam unit it replaced. The beam unit lasted 30 years. The filtering sytem does not seem to be as easy to work with as the one on the Beam. Liked buying a USA product.



4 star user rating.
May 27 2011 8:15AM

Much easier to change bags and the system is set up for a women. Excellent!!



4 star user rating.
Apr 4 2010 3:50PM
Comments not provided.


4 star user rating.
Mar 13 2010 10:27AM
Comments not provided.


4 star user rating.

Jul 30 2009 12:02PM

I installed a MD E2 eight years ago and it has been a real workhorse.

The dual motors create great suction. A couple of months ago the bearings on one motor went. I blocked off one port while waiting for the delivery of a new motor and the suction was quite equivalent to our old walk around vacuum. It was nice to have the dual motors again to get the dog hair from my black Lab off the rug. I take the equivalent of a small dog out of the hopper every couple of months. Good product.



4 star user rating.

Jun 13 2009 8:53AM

Love the unit, immeasurably better than a conventional vacuum system. Mounted in my garage, so no dust is ever returned into the house. Changing out the full bag is a bit dusty. Would rate 5 of 5 if my original unit came with the new bag and attachment.



4 star user rating.

Jun 12 2009 8:11AM

The system is great.



4 star user rating.

Jun 10 2009 9:01AM

Had to replace the hose only after the 2nd year.

Also the height adjustment switch on the handle broke off so it's a little more difficult to adjust. Contacted your local dealer and said he would try to get a replacement (2 years ago). Haven't heard back yet. (MD NOTES: Dealers use any brand of hose and tools they want. It sounds like the unit is fine but the tools have been an issue.)



4 star user rating.

Jun 10 2009 4:34AM

We bought our unit from Habitat for Humanity and installed in the home we built. It has worked fine, even nicer to use after buying a new hose with a on and off switch on the handle. Unit is in garage and could be quieter, inside the house unit is relatively quiet.



4 star user rating.

Jun 9 2009 3:42PM

This is the one and only central vac I have used. It has been in our house for over 10 years. All of those ten years we have had at least 2 cats and a big hairy yellow lab. The vacuum has worked fine...no complaints other than we have replaced a hose and had the beater head repaired...with all that hard work, I would expect that.



4 star user rating.
Jun 9 2009 1:51PM
Comments not provided.


4 star user rating.

Jun 9 2009 12:22PM

Works great! Only negative is the noise level.



4 star user rating.

Jun 9 2009 12:10PM

Our system seems to work fine. The house is 20years old and we have lived here 5 years now. Can't compare to others but the suction is good and I use it almost everyday to pick up dog and cat hair around the house.



4 star user rating.

Jun 9 2009 11:50AM

Generally this vacuum works well. The unit is in the garage and has to cover a 3000 square foot, 3 story house. I wonder if the suction I'm getting from it is maximum and appropriate. I have no way of measuring that, but it does pick up the dirt from our hardwood and concrete floors. We have no carpeting anywhere in the house.

My only problem is that when I replace the filter bag, it can take 10+ minutes of vacuuming before the suction returns to its normal level. I'm guessing the seal in the main unit needs to fully re-seat itself after I change the bag.



4 star user rating.

Jun 9 2009 9:41AM

Pros: Great suction, decent bag capacity, simple design makes it easy to clean and maintain. Cons: Open bag along with a simple design means that you will get dirty when you change bags, my unit is in the garage and it is loud if you are in the garage when the unit is operating.



4 star user rating.

Jan 17 2009 10:14AM

I have had a built in vac for 25 years and been very pleased with it's performance. When it stopped I wanted a replacement and this dealer is the only one listed within 50 miles so I called him and this is the product he sells. I have just begun to use it and the first run is good.



4 star user rating.
Nov 12 2008 3:58PM
Comments not provided.


4 star user rating.

Sep 24 2008 1:52PM

I only wish the hose weren't so long. (MD NOTES: Take a look at our Quick Click Hose. It has a convenient 20ft base and then easy to click on extensions as needed.)



4 star user rating.
Apr 11 2008 7:43AM
Comments not provided.

Please fill out this short form to submit a review for:
Modernday Vacuum Unit Services
Rating:

PRIVACY NOTICE: Your email address will not be displayed on our site or given to any third parties under any circumstances. Your name and comments (if entered) will be displayed upon approval by an editor. We will not change your comments, but will remove any unacceptable words and correct any spelling errors.

(Prevents duplicate user ratings - never used for spam.)