MD Central Vacuum
Fast Free shipping
on orders over $75
Since 1961

Basic Vacuum Hose

Product Reviews

Customer Reviews

Stars
836 Reviews, 4.5 out of 5 stars
Filter by:

2 star user rating.

Aug 14 2018 7:59AM

The basic hose did not fit my outlets (from Budd Vacuum). I am still waiting for an RMA number.

(MD Notes: We have worked with the customer and arranged a return.)



2 star user rating.
Nov 23 2014 6:39AM

it does not appear to be a product that will have much of a life span



2 star user rating.

Apr 25 2012 8:06PM

We've had to keep twisting the tapered cuff back onto the hose. It doesn't seem to have ever been properly attached.



2 star user rating.
Aug 19 2011 10:46AM

It does not stay in the hole and the attachments do not hold. I did not receive an invoice with it. (MD NOTES: For just a few more dollars consider a Low Voltage Hose. It fits where the Basic Hose fits, and better, and it is non-electric.)



2 star user rating.
Feb 24 2011 2:38PM
Comments not provided.


2 star user rating.

Feb 3 2011 3:16PM

I recently purchased this item and after it arrived I discovered why it's called The Basic Vacuum Hose. The wand end does not have the air flow regulator and the quick connect for the wand is missing. So the wand has to jammed on to make it secure. The end that is inserted into the wall plate is a poor fit. I missed these shortcommings in the product description page. I had to remove the wand end from my old hose and install it on the new hose. This item should come with these basic features and the hose sock should be preinstalled. It wouldn't be The Basic Vacuum Hose anymore, but it would have made a much better product. (MD NOTES: The Low Voltage Hose fits in every application of the Basic Hose and has a ton more features for just a few more dollars. We urge you to consider the Low Voltage Hose.)



2 star user rating.

Aug 19 2010 11:23AM

I ordered this hose in October of 2009 - it worked just fine until the end tore off. It didn't tear where it could be glued back together, but tore on the actual hose, near the end. The hose I had before this one lasted since 1990, when I bought the house, so I'm not sure what to do. I need a hose but don't want to order the same one in fear of spending that much money and it breaking within a few months (it tore in February of 2010). I'm using a regular vaccum cleaner now and HATE it - I love my central vaccum! (MD NOTES: This hose will last a very long time and will therefore be reviewed for complete warranty coverage immediately.)



2 star user rating.
Jun 9 2010 12:30PM

I've only used the hose three times and the hose part pulled out of the end fitting. (PLEASE NOTE: Contact MD for Warranty.)



2 star user rating.

Jul 31 2009 6:17AM

Fixture at end of hose does not have a method of attaching to hose extensions or accessories. (other than friction, which does not work well at all. )

I solved the problem by exchanging the end piece my old hose with the piece provided.

I was very disappointed in the product that you provided. (NOTE: Please purchase the Low Voltage Hose with Button Lock. It is better all the way around and fits EVERYWHERE a Basic hose fits. Call us if you have any questions.)



2 star user rating.
Feb 11 2009 4:58AM

Concerned about durability.



2 star user rating.

Feb 27 2008 4:12PM

This hose is flimsy compared to my old one.It works but it's thinner gauge.

MD NOTES: THIS HOSE IS CRUSHPROOF. STEP ON IT, AND IT BOUNCES BACK. TECHNOLOGY HAS PRODUCED LIGHTWEIGHT, HIGH-QUALITY PLASTICS FROM WHICH THIS HOSE IS MADE. IT WILL LAST A LONG TIME.



2 star user rating.
Jan 19 2008 10:20AM

Does not include the lock to keep attachments from coming loose.

MD NOTES: THE BASIC HOSE DOESN'T COME WITH THE BUTTON LOCK ANYMORE, BUT THE LOW VOLTAGE DOES AND IS COMPATIBLE WHEREVER BASIC HOSES CAN BE USED.



2 star user rating.

Oct 9 2007 9:37AM

The hose is not as stiff as the original one that came with the system. It bends too easily.



2 star user rating.
Jun 29 2007 9:41AM

The hose is much lighter than my original one, but it also tends to kink quite easily if not completely untangled and thus cuts off air flow. I hope this will last a while. Not what I anticipated.

MD NOTES: Once the hose is received, please uncoil and let it relax. When finished, hang it up in only 4 to 5 loops. The hose is very durable, lightweight, and pliable and is made with the best plastics available.



2 star user rating.
Oct 23 2006 5:20AM

Not near as flexible as old hose. Is constantly bending over.

MD NOTES: Be sure to hang the hose in only four or five loops. Also, consider upgrading for $30 more to a Low Voltage hose that has a 360-degree rotating handle. The twists in the hose will undo themselves.



2 star user rating.

Oct 9 2006 4:46AM

The item above didn't fit well in the outlets in my home. It was all I could do to get in or out, the wife can't do either. Don't know if I sand on it a little will help, but going to try. Other than that it's a good replacement.

MD NOTES: OLD FASCO VACUUM INLETS. Solution is to use old vacuum end on new hose or change the inlets to modern ones.



2 star user rating.

Apr 18 2006 11:00AM

Unlike our other hose, this one easily crimps and has suction problems. Would not buy again. If I purchased locally, would have returned. (MD NOTES: Yes, thankfully technology has produced a lighter, thinner, and very durable hose! Our manufacturer in the USA is the best worldwide hands down. Commonly folks with older technology hoses have this complaint. The new hose needs to be stretched and relaxed when received and then hung up after use in 4 or 5 loops. If this is done you will not have kinking problems.)



2 star user rating.
Apr 11 2006 5:07PM

Works fine but is very thin-walled and easily kinked... next time I'd spend a little more for a more crush-proof hose. (MD NOTES: Yes, thankfully technology has produced a lighter, thinner, and very durable hose! Our manufacturer in the USA is the best worldwide hands down. Commonly folks with older technology hoses have this complaint. The new hose needs to be stretched and relaxed when received and then hung up after use in 4 or 5 loops. If this is done you will not have kinking problems. All our hoses are crushproof meaning that you can compress it, stand on it, run over it, but it will not stay crushed down, it goes back to its original shape!)


Please fill out this short form to submit a review for:
Basic Vacuum Hose
Rating:

PRIVACY NOTICE: Your email address will not be displayed on our site or given to any third parties under any circumstances. Your name and comments (if entered) will be displayed upon approval by an editor. We will not change your comments, but will remove any unacceptable words and correct any spelling errors.

(Prevents duplicate user ratings - never used for spam.)