MD Central Vacuum
Fast Free shipping
on orders over $75
Since 1961

Basic Vacuum Hose

Product Reviews

Customer Reviews

Stars
836 Reviews, 4.5 out of 5 stars
Filter by:

3 star user rating.
Nov 8 2018 11:21AM

The hose should have come with a wand to connect it to the brush. I had to buy them at a vacuum supply store.

( We do offer some hose kits on our website that will include a wand as well as accessories. )



3 star user rating.

Sep 27 2017 10:54AM

product is fine but the web site said it was compatible with my budd system but it was not. still waiting for my refund!

(MD Notes: Budd installation with door-activated inlet valves will require an adapter to accommodate the small sized diameter inlets. We reached out to the customer regarding the status of the refund.)



3 star user rating.
Apr 25 2017 1:16PM

wrong size for the original housing in wall (1-1/4" O.D.) is what I need

(MD Notes: Many Kenmore systems require an adapter to accommodate the smaller sized inlet valves. We have since reached out to the customer with a few options.)



3 star user rating.
Sep 19 2016 6:32AM

There is no click button as in the other hose,,and the hose does crimp at times

(MD Notes: We reached out to the customer and presented a few options to resolve this concern. The customer decided to accept new non button-lock wands which we shipped out right away.)



3 star user rating.

May 9 2016 10:22AM

My old hose had deteriorated and would whistle when in use, so it's nice to have the new lightweight hose. It works well, except it's irritating as there is no click-in button on the chrome to snap into the attachment.

(MD Notes: We are reaching out to the customer to resolve this problem, as all of our basic hoses come standard with a friction fit nozzle. There is a separate attachment with the button lock option on the nozzle piece.)



3 star user rating.
Apr 20 2016 7:26AM

Why is there no click in button like on my previous one? Doesn't seem that secure. (MD Notes: We have reached out to this customer with options to remedy this issue.)



3 star user rating.

Mar 10 2016 5:48AM

I like the hose except for the fact that is doesn't have a hole in the chrome for my attachment to snap into. Therefore, I have to hold where the hose meets the attachment. It can be done but would be easier if it snapped in place.

(MD Notes: We have reached out to this customer with options to remedy this issue.)



3 star user rating.

Sep 24 2015 8:35AM

The hose product needs improvement in material of construction. Make more durable to last long. We bought similar hose product not too long ago which is broken at several places although we are not heavy users.

Thanks!



3 star user rating.

Mar 5 2015 2:29AM

Kinked the first time I used it cutting off suction. Now it does it every time I use it. (MD NOTES: We highly recommend the Low Voltage Hose where ever there can be a Basic Hose.)



3 star user rating.
Sep 18 2014 6:47PM

the end did not fit my 1935 home connection.



3 star user rating.

Mar 21 2014 5:52AM

The hose is made of a stiffer plastic than I would have liked. The wand end did not have a lock/release button to hold the appliances in place and the hose end that connected to the

wall inlet was too big. I took it off and turned it down .015" on the diameter and then it fit fine. I have an older Kenmore central vac system.



3 star user rating.
Jul 26 2013 6:14AM

Not made as good as my last one.Pulls out of the wall outlet to easy Have to stop and put back in the outlet.



3 star user rating.

Nov 20 2012 8:05AM

fits very loose when plugged into wall



3 star user rating.

Jul 31 2012 9:01AM

I wish I had upgraded to the one with the on off switch on the handle. the one I bought works well I have no problem with it. Products works well.



3 star user rating.
May 25 2012 8:26AM

The replacement adaptor to the wall is now giving me electrical connection. Thank you for sending that connection. I did not realize how much suction I was losing from my old hose. The new one is great!! I object to rating the product, since my comments are primarily meant for your service. Thank you



3 star user rating.
Dec 27 2011 10:58AM

decent hose, contact ring should be larger, had to remove old one and put it on the new hose for it to work.



3 star user rating.

Nov 30 2011 9:25AM

The hose worked very well, but the end fitting that plugs into the vacuum canister did not fit, so I removed the end fitting from the old hose and glued the old end fitting onto the new hose.

When I spoke to the person by telephone before placing the order, I was assured the new hose was completely compatible with the exact model number of Sequoia vacuum system installed in my home.



3 star user rating.
Jan 25 2011 3:42AM
Comments not provided.


3 star user rating.

Dec 18 2010 5:26AM
Comments not provided.


3 star user rating.
Aug 30 2010 4:15PM

This hose is not as strong as the one we replaced. You have to be careful & not pull too hard as it will actually "kink" or pinch closed.



3 star user rating.
May 28 2010 2:04PM

This hose does not have the push button attachment to the long metal vacuum tube as my old hose had. Consequently, it comes apart at the junction of the hose and tube quite frequently. Inconvenient. (MD NOTES: The Low Voltage hose has the button option and works everywhere a Basic Hose is used.)



3 star user rating.

May 25 2010 8:58AM

as we bought a very long hose it tends to entangle itself even though we store it carefully but the material is more supple than the original one. I wish there was an on/off switch , no need to go everytime to the outlet to switch off as one in a large place does not go through the cleaning in one go but must sometimes clean something and vacuum again.... Hope you see what i mean. Anyway a switch is more practical. I use my old pipe (for the brush) which you have to connect to the hose and it is very annoying as it never stays fixed but fall off very often. (MD NOTES: We suggest buying a Low Voltage Hose. It has an on/off switch and works with 99% of all vacuum wall ports. Also, when buying a 40ft or 50ft hose be prepared for hose management issues and practice patience. Regarding the wands falling off, twist them on hard a few times to set them and they'll stay much better.)



3 star user rating.

Sep 18 2009 8:43PM

much lighter and thinner than my old hose....seems flimsy and of lesser quality... and a bit expensive for what it is, given its just thin plastic. i feel it will not last as long as the previous one. it also does not fit as snugly on to the metal extension with the brush head, and seems slightly loose in the wall jack too. but it works, and it IS easier to move around, and probably easier on the baseboards.

Actually, the quality is really great and we only buy from the best supplier in the world which is out of America. We understand the first impression you have and look forward to your impression many years down the road.



3 star user rating.
Jul 31 2009 3:29AM

It is not long enough for me and the one end to insert into the wall is difficult. (NOTE: Longer hoses are available and in the Basic Hose page please read about adapters needed for some brands.)



3 star user rating.

Jul 16 2009 8:55PM

Everyone wants a little more length......


Please fill out this short form to submit a review for:
Basic Vacuum Hose
Rating:

PRIVACY NOTICE: Your email address will not be displayed on our site or given to any third parties under any circumstances. Your name and comments (if entered) will be displayed upon approval by an editor. We will not change your comments, but will remove any unacceptable words and correct any spelling errors.

(Prevents duplicate user ratings - never used for spam.)